The "Big6" Steps Model of Information Literacy
The Big6™ is a process model that integrates information search and use skills along with technology tools in a systematic process to find, use, apply, and evaluate information for specific needs and tasks.
Students may use these steps will help them focus and stay organized during the research process.
Step 1. Task Definition
- Define the information problem (assignment)
- Identify the information needed
- Ask yourself:
- What does my instructor expect me to do?
- Do I understand what I need to do?
- What are the questions I need to answer?
- What do I need to know about the topic?
- Should I ask my instructor for clarification?
Step 2. Information Seeking Strategies
- Determine all possible sources
- Make a list of all possible sources & select the best ones
- Select the best source
- Choose from library databases: reference databases, scholarly databases, news and magazine databases, streaming video databases, eBooks, or credible websites
- Ask yourself:
- Where can I start to look for information?·
- Who can I reach out to for information?
- What are the best sources to use?
- Should I reach out to a librarian for help with sources?
Step 3. Location and Access
- Locate sources
- Identify the information needed
- Locate sources & find information within the texts
- Consult the library catalog and databases, search engines, and web-based references
- Take notes or use a graphic organizer to map out your topic and subtopics
- Ask yourself:
- Where can I find these resources?
- How do I search to get to them?
- Where do I find the information in the resource?
- Would asking a librarian for help with the databases save me time?
Step 4. Use of Information
- Engage (read, hear, view, touch)
- Extract relevant information
- Use skimming and scanning to find information that addresses your topic
- Look for key words and terminology, pictures, headlines, and first & last paragraphs of articles to help you locate the “right” information
- Keep track of your information by using the library database's Email or Share Tools (include the citation) and email yourself the URL of a web page (you will thank yourself later)
- Take notes
- Summarize, paraphrase or quote
- Remember to cite each source you use in the style you were assigned (MLA, APA, etc)
- Ask yourself:
- What type of information did I find?
- Is it credible and fact-based?
- Does it fit the requirements of my assignment?
- Will the information answer the questions I have?
- How do I write notes on the information?
- Is the information reliable?
Step 5. Synthesis
- Organize from multiple sources
- Present the information
- Choose the format of your project and organize your research notes according to how you will share the information.
- If your format is a paper, begin by writing an outline.
- If you are producing a PowerPoint or multi-media presentation, categorize your main bullet points and images. Different formats require different types of organization.
- Present the information effectively by practicing and knowing your audience
- Ask yourself:
- How do I fit all the information together
- How do I write an outline of the project?
- How do I present the information to my teacher to answer the question?
- Did I remember to make notes of all the sources for the bibliography?
- Would this be a good time to reach out to the Writing Center?
Step 6. Self-Evaluation
- Judge the product (effectiveness)
- Judge the process (efficiency)
- Did you meet your objective?
- Judge the quality of your work.
- Next, judge the quality of your presentation.
- You can use criteria such as accuracy, content, creativity and legibility.
- Ask yourself:
- Did I solve the problem?
- Did I write the project in a format that will be understood?
- Will I do anything different the next time?
- What did I learn?
- Am I pleased with the project?
Source: Big6 Mike Eisenberg and Bob Berkowitz.
