Library 101: Western Library In-Person & Online

How to Read and Use Database Articles

NOTE: You don't need to read the whole article!

• skim and scan for information you need for your project
  • main idea - repeating words are clues about the main idea
  • details or examples to explain the main points
• ignore everything else
• decide if any portion of the article meets your needs -- if it doesn't move on

Identifying Main Topics and Ideas

• pre-read - skim and scan to get a feel for the topic
  • topic terms will be repeated, e.g. "time management," "social media," "college students," etc. 
    • nouns or noun-phrases only identify a topic, they do not convey meaning 
  •  main ideas are discussed in sentences and paragraphs within in the articles
• for non-scholarly articles (Credo Reference, articles from magazines, newspapers, webpages)
  • look for the main ideas near the beginning of the article or the introduction
  • main ideas may also be restated in the conclusion of an article
• for peer-reviewed / scholarly articles 
  • the introduction sets out what the author plans to study
  • look for the main ideas near the end of the article in the author's conclusion

Keeping Track of the Information You Find

To avoid becoming total overwhelmed by the research process find some method to gather and organize information BEFORE you begin writing or setting up your final project. Have your *stuff* together will make writing your paper or preparing your speech or PowerPoint much less stressful and go much faster. 

     Creating a digital worksheet can be helpful.

Creating a Digital Worksheet

Why?

• Even if you take handwritten notes it's good to set up a digital document as well. Why? 
  • you can easily link back to the article if you need to 
  • your citation is ready to go
  • helps you organize your material AND you thoughts
  • write a rough draft using your main points and details/examples (helps you avoid plagiarism)

How?

• Use Word or OneNote or whatever works for you
  • For each source list the: 
    • Name of the Database or Website
    • Title of the Article
    • Database Article Link (NOT the URL at the top of the browser) to easily access the article again. To find the Article Link:
      • In Credo Reference click "Share" above the title of the article
      • In EBSCO databases click "Permalink" in the right column of the article page
      • In Gale databases click "Get Link" onn the top right of the article page
    • Web Page URL 
    • Copy/paste the database citation (look for the Cite tools) 
    • For web pages - copy/paste the name of author and the date of the article, and publisher of the website (name of a company or organization) so you can build the citation later.
    • At least 3 Main Points of the article in your own words
    • Details and/or examples that explain the main point in your own words

Example | Digital Worksheet Entry 

Source #1: Credo Reference Database (Library Database)

Article Title:

“Benefits”

Article Link: 

https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6NDIzMjcyOQ==?q=Employee+benefits&aid=114475

Citation:

Benefits. (2013). In Gale (Ed.), Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law. Gale. Retrieved October 3, 2023, from    https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6NDIzMjcyOQ==.

Main Ideas

• Main Idea #1:  Definition of employee benefits
  • Fill in details and/or examples
• Main Idea #2:  List the benefits that are required by law
  • Fill in details and/or examples
• Main Idea #3:  Give examples of benefits that are optional
  • Fill in details and/or examples

Why this article makes for your project:

Jot down the ways you think this article will be useful for your assignment. There may be some time between when you find an article and when you start your paper or presentation. Jotting down your WHY on a digital worksheet now will save you time when you start your project.