Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Research for Writing Assignments: A Quick Guide

Learn to find, read, and use database articles for a writing assignment.

Journal Research - Academic Search Premier Database

Advanced Searching - Using a combination of words:

  • Stress and Fatigue
  • Chronic Stress and Depression
  • Stress and Anxiety
  • Stress and Brain development
  • Stress and Pandemic
  • Stress and prenatal care
  • Stress and Insomnia

Ebsco logoMost EBSCO databases look alike. Do a Basic Search from the database home page or choose Advanced Search to bring up additional boxes to construct a search. Notice the AND & OR options. Using AND narrows your search to concepts of stress AND fatigue. The OR option expands results by bring back articles that either use the synonyms "fatigue" or "exhaustion.

ebssco basic search

Ebsco advanced search

Warning iconImportant Database Filters - Full Text and Publication Date

Be sure to check that the Full Text box is checked or your results may include only an article's Abstract (summary) and not the complete article itself, which can be frustrating! You may also want to filter the Publication Date to more recent results.

Ebsco Search Results

list icon

Evaluate Your Source for Relevance

Use the article's details to decide if the article will work for you/. Notice  the author name(s) and source title, and the list of linkable terms. Click on any link that looks interesting, it could be helpful! Read the Abstract or summary of the article to decide if it will work for you.

 

world wide web iconDatabase Tools - Full Text PDF Link, Email, Citation, Print
Click the PDF link to read the complete article. Keep track of articles you find by emailing them to yourself to read or refer to later. You can choose and send your citation along with the article. Use the citation tool to find the format you need for your assignment and copy/paste it into you paper. Print your article if you want to highlight important terms and concepts and jot notes in the margin.

Ebsco article detail page

citstion graphic

Citation Tool

Click on the citation tool to bring up the citation format options. Scroll through the list and choose the appropriate citation. If you are unsure if it is correct, use a style guide linked below, to double-check.

citation list

Citing Your Sources

More About The Research Process


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.