Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Early Childhood Education: Basic Research

Use Western Library to research issues and best practices related to early childhood education.

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

Popular Articles vs Peer-Reviewed Articles: What's the difference?

Popular Articles

  • Grocery cartcome from newsstand magazines and newspapers 
    • sold in grocery stores, drug stores, or bookstores
  • authors - reporters, freelancers, staff writers
  • editors decide what goes into an issue
  • audience is the general public

Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) Articles

  • scholarlyappear in academic journals (also known as scholarly journals)
  • found in libraries, universities, hospitals, and research centers
  • authors - experts, scientists, professors, scholars or other professionals in a specific field of study
  • peers of the author (in the same field) read and evaluate a paper (article) for validity, credibility and accuracy before publication
  • peers of the author recommend that the paper should be published, revised, or rejected
  • articles that are accepted for publication meet the expected standards for the field
  • audience - other experts, scholars, professionals in the same field or students pursuing the field

Library Databases for Peer-Reviewed Articles

world wide web icon

 

Basic Database Features - Tools and Filters

 

 

Each database company (EBSCO, Gale, Credo Reference, etc.) has its own unique "look," but ...

ALL databases have TOOLS. The most commonly used are:

  • basic or advanced search boxes
  • email or share
  • cite/citation
  • print

ALL databases have FILTERS. The most commonly used are:

  • full-text (import in EBSCO databases to access a complete article rather than just a short description)
  • publication date range
  • subject categories
  • source type - newspapers, magazines, peer-reviewed journals, images, audio, video, etc.
  • publication type you need -newspaper, magazines, or academic (scholarly) journal
  • document type - peer-reviewed article, essay, biography
  • language option - this may be limited, but worth checking anyway

How Do I Tell if an Article is Scholarly?

Use this grid can help you decide whether or not your source is scholarly.

Scholarly

Non-scholarly

Content

Detailed report of original research or experiment, lengthy report of an original application of an arts or humanities concept Secondary report or discussion may include personal narrative, opinion, anecdotes.

Author

Author's credentials are given, usually a scholar with subject expertise. Author may or may not be named; often a professional writer; may or may not have subject expertise.

Audience

Scholars, researchers, students. General public; the interested non-specialist.

Language

Specialized terminology or jargon of the field; requires prior knowledge. Vocabulary in general usage; understandable to most readers.

References/

Bibliography

Required. All quotes and facts can be verified. Rare. Scanty, if any, information about sources.

Examples

Research study, lengthy academic discussion of an arts or humanities concept, research review article Editorial, news, book/film review, letters, highlights

Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.