Child Development Theorists - Finding Articles in Databases - Early Childhood Education: Basic Research

TUTORIAL: Credo Reference

Searching and Finding Articles in Library Databases

Start your research with the database, Credo Reference, to look up general information about people, concepts, theories in the field of education.

Next, if you need a scholarly or peer-reviewed article, or more in-depth information try the databases Education Research Complete (EBSCO) or Educator's Reference Complete (Gale).

Finding information in Credo Reference

Enter John Bowlby into the search box on the Credo Reference home page to bring up the results page.

Notice the Mind Map feature links to concepts related to your main search term, John Bowlby. Click on any of the terms to link out to the results page for that term.
Notice in the list below the multiple ideas about the concept of Attachment.. Use these alternate terms in future searches in Credo Reference or other databases..
- Mary Ainsworth
- Attachment Theory; Attachment Therapy; Attachment in Adults; Attachment Disorder; Reactive Attachment Disorder
- Maternal deprivation

John Bowlyby - Results Page: List of Articles and Mind Map
Includes a list of articles about John Bowlby from psychology and education reference books. Also includes the interactive Mind Map. Click on a related link to find more information about that topic. Notice the link now appears in the center of a new Mind Map.

John Bowlyby - SAGE Encyclopedia of Childhood & Childhood Studies
John Bowlby (1907–1990) was a British psychiatrist and psychoanalyst. His theory of attachment is an account of the development of secure, intimate, meaningful, enduring, and trusting relationships. The forming of attachment begins in infancy with the child's primary caregiver but has ramifications for the way they relate to others throughout life. Bowlby's theory has had a profound influence on the understanding and treatment of children in every aspects of their lives. It is possibly the most influential 20th-century psychological theory of child development.

Ask Yourself

WHY is this person important?
HOW can I use this information? Assignment? Workplace? Personal Life?

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.