LibGuides: Human Services: Children, Families, and Groups APA Lit Review: STEP 2: Finding Current Peer-Reviewed Sources/Western Databases

Best Bet Databases for Human Services Research (Quick Links)

These are our best recommendations for where to search for information for your project. Browse the rest of this page for additional explanation and tutorials on how to use these resources for research.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A giant database that covers a wide range of topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles, as well as articles from trade journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A great resource for writing assignments. Browse a wide list of subject categories from the database’s home page to find articles and information from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and multimedia. Content is provided in the fields of biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, psychology, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This database covers a wide range of fields in the study of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. A great database for students, faculty, researchers, psychologists, and counselors, and any job or career that involves working with people. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.

TIPS FOR USING DATABASES:

Still not finding what you need? Browse the full list of databases for other options and/or reach out to a librarian.

Library Databases A-Z (find articles)

NOTE: You will be prompted to enter your Western ID to log in to library databases.

Tips for Using Western Databases

Search Tips for Academic Search Premier/Ebsco

The box above contains a screenshot of the Academic Search Premier "advanced search" page options. It is most important to click the boxes for "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" sources. It is also important to adjust the beginning date to 2013 or later. Adding these search limits will ensure that your sources meet the assignment requirements.

Search Tips for Gale OneFile and Gale Psychology

The box above contains a screenshot of the Gale OneFile and Gale Psychology "advanced search" page options. It is most important to click the boxes for "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed" sources. It is also important to adjust the beginning date to 2013 or later. Adding these search limits will ensure that your sources meet the assignment requirements.