Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.
This is our first choice for getting started on a research topic. It's helpful for finding background information, defining search terms, or honing in on a focused topic. The mind map is also a student researcher favorite!
Find information in multiple EBSCO databases all at the same time. Click the databases related to your topic, enter your search terms, and get the results from each individual database all in a single list.
Use the tools in this database to brush up on your college skills (math, reading, grammar, and the sciences) to help you succeed in college or prepare for advancement in your career. Tools include interactive tutorials, flashcards, practice exams, articles, and ebooks. Learning Express Library has practice exams in college subjects as well as in career fields such as health and nursing, law enforcement and military, public safety and civil service, electrical and plumbing, truck driving, cosmetology, culinary arts, and more. Register for a free account with your name and email address to access the tools.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Multiple subject database that searches across many other EBSCO platforms including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Consumer Health Complete, and many more. Browsable by subject and equipped with many filters specifically designed for students. Use it to find scholarly or popular articles, ebooks, and more.
Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty and staff can find and preview a variety of Open Educational Resources (OER) to support your courses, as well as search and request library purchase of e-books from top academic publishers. This subscription is provided in partnership with Equity, Inclusion, & Community Engagement to support faculty in identifying and considering OER or other learning materials resources that are no cost to students.
Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you have further questions or need assistance with this resource.
Overdrive, Wisconsin's Shared Collection for Academic Libraries, WISCAL
Libby makes reading and listening to books easy and convenient! Access a growing collection of popular fiction and nonfiction ebooks and digital audiobooks for leisure reading, as well as career, technical, and academic subjects. Click the link to login with your Western ID or download the Libby App. Choose Western Technical College from the drop-down list when you see "Sign in with My Card." Got questions or need help? Ask a Librarian!