Introduction to Literature (Course Guide / Andy Skemp)

Believe it or not, we don’t all learn the same way. In fact, reading is a new enough behavior for humans that there is no wiring in our brains specifically for reading. Each and every one of us make those neural connections differently. This is a good reason to pay attention to your learning preferences. Being aware of your own learning preferences can help you to use strategies and tools for learning that will support what you naturally do. Of course, it’s still important to use strategies that “stretch” your brain a bit too – you never know when you might need those other strategies!

Contents include: a definition and introduction to literature; understanding fiction, poetry, and drama accompanied by readings; and writing about literature, including examples.
NOTE: You can access a PDF version or Download a copy of the text book using the buttons on the right side of the page.

Learning Objectives: By the end of this chapter, students should be able to:
-explain the difference between fiction and non-fiction, short stories and novels.
-describe the key elements of fiction.
-discuss the meanings of “tone,” “diction,” and “syntax."
-identify the major elements of a plot.
-identify character, setting, and theme.
-differentiate between internal and external conflict

Learning Objectives -- By the end of this chapter, students will be able to:
-define poetry.
-discuss the elements of poetry.
-analyze poetry.

Learning Objectives -- By the end of this chapter, students will be able to:
-describe the elements of drama.
-identify drama-specific literary devices.
-perform drama-specific literary analysis.
-write a literary analysis essay on a play.

Outlines in short sections how to write about literature for your different literature assignments. Includes student samples.

Literature can be classified according to whether it is fiction or non-fiction and whether it is poetry or prose. It can be further distinguished according to major forms such as the novel, short story or drama, and works are often categorized according to historical periods or their adherence to certain aesthetic features or expectations (genre).

This course is designed to introduce students to the study, analysis, and interpretation of literature across multiple genres. Key topics include literary genres and conventions; how to read and write about literature; literary analysis; and readings and responses in the genres of poetry, drama, fiction, and creative nonfiction. Primary literary works and critical responses are included, as well as a collection of writing assignments aligned with course content and learning outcomes. This text was developed by faculty at Ivy Tech Community College, using original materials, as well as materials from NDLA.
NOTE: You can access a PDF version or Download a copy of the text book using the buttons on the right side of the page.

Provides an introductory overview to the literary genres covered in the course - fiction, poetry, drama and how to approach and analyze each. Links to outside sources provided.

Covers different literary conventions such as: the elements of literature, literary style, perspective and point of view, theme, conflict, symbolism, metaphors, and characters and characterization.

How Arguments Work takes students through the techniques they will need to respond to readings and make sophisticated arguments in any college class. This is a practical guide to argumentation with strategies and templates for the kinds of assignments students will commonly encounter. It covers rhetorical concepts in everyday language and explores how arguments can build trust and move readers.

Close Reading, Literary Theory, Critical Annotations, and the Novel.

Characterization, Character Analysis, Literary Analysis, Figurative Language.

Writing about Literature, Citations and Formatting Guide for Literature (MLA), Literary Criticism

Link to a complete list of Western Library Databases. Use the "All Subjects" drop down menus to find databases in a specific subject area or the "Database Types" to find databases by source - newspapers, magazines, encyclopedias, peer-reviewed/scholarly articles, etc.

LibGuide with video and screenshot tutorials that teach you about how to navigate the different Western Library databases by EBSCO, Gale, and more, to find articles and streaming video for homework and research assignments. NOTE: You'll be asked to login with your Western ID.