Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Library Resources for Instruction (ARCHIVED)

Information about how your librarians and library can support online instruction. Guide created March 2020.

Navigating the Website and Accessing Library Resources 24/7

This 3-minute screencast walks you through the process of accessing library resources 24/7 from our website. It demonstrates how to search for ebooks using the library catalog, find and access the list of library databases, find research guides from your librarians, and use the contact form to ask us your questions. 

Research Assignment / Syllabus Statements

Does your course require students to do research? Remind them that their library is here to help! Feel free to use or adapt the following statement for your syllabus, Blackboard course, or assignment sheets. 

Library Resources / Ask a Librarian

Need credible sources but don't know where to start? Searching for a book, video, or article to support your argument? Your Library provides 24/7 access to books, databases, research guides and more at westerntc.edu/library-services. The Library 101 Guide provides a general introduction to using the library and is a great place to start. Still feeling overwhelmed by research and wish someone could help you navigate? Ask a librarian!

Find Research Guides

We have several guides (linked below) which offer an overview of library resources for reading and research. You are welcome to use these (or any of our other guides) as a starting place for introducing or learning about library resources. If you are hoping for something more tailored to your needs, we are happy to build a custom guide for your course or project.

screenshot of the list of Western library research guides

Find Articles (Databases A-Z)

The library's list of databases is the best place to start looking for digital materials to meet your needs. These collections contain journal articles, ebooks, magazine articles, videos, images, and other kinds of content. All content can be used (for free) by Western students and staff. The list can be sorted by subject area or type of content.

image depicts the library's list of databases, which can be sorted by subject and with other filters

While the databases list is designed to help you and your students find just the right resource, the many options may feel overwhelming at first. This video walkthrough explains how the options work and how to get started with our most popular resources.

Ask a Librarian

There are many other resources available to students and staff via the library and on the open web. Your librarians would be happy to help find what you need. Start the conversation by reaching out and telling them about your course, your assignment, or your resource need. We'll follow up and take it from there!


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.