LibGuides: Education and Training: Basic Research: Finding Articles in Library Databases

Student Learning Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Business and Professional Services, Education and Human Services, Liberal Arts, Social Justice, Student Success

Databases - Video Tutorials Guide

Learn about the great features available in Western Library Databases as well as how to how to conduct effective searches in our Database Intro Guide.

Database Intro Guide
Learn to use Western Library Databases. Video tutorials as well as tips and tricks finding articles and other information in library databases.
Western Library - A-Z Database List
An alphabetical list of databases provided by Western Library. Use the Subject Menu in the upper left to narrow your search to a specific subject area.

Best Bet Databases - Education and Training

You can find a wide variety of information and resources using library databases. These resources allow you to search for a topic, browse a specific publication, or find articles relevant for your research. Most databases (including the ones below) provide tools such as basic and advanced search boxes, source citations, subject suggestions, and search filters.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A giant database that covers a wide range of topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles, as well as articles from trade journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to locate information in the field of education research. It contains full-text articles from professional magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and conference papers in a wide range of education topics. It also includes historical information about books and articles written in the last 100 years.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A resource for educators in a variety of roles from classroom teachers and administrators, to students preparing for a career in education. Content from magazines, journals, newspapers, and multimedia cover multiple levels of education and educational specialties such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, as well as insights on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to locate information in the field of education research. It contains full-text articles from professional magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and conference papers in a wide range of education topics. It also includes historical information about books and articles written in the last 100 years.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed for education students and professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of quality education journals, with hundreds of peer-reviewed titles and educational reports.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A great source for education students and educators. Find articles on education topics in professional and education journals, magazines, biographies, case studies and reports.

Other Databases to Know

map icon

The databases listed below can help you get started with researching concepts as well as hands-on education research projects:

education concepts (Credo Reference, eBook Collection (EBSCO))
skills-based tests for students of all age levels (Learning Express Library)
locating book titles for your classroom students (NoveList K-8, NoveList, Teaching Books)
classroom assignments (Britannica Library, Credo Reference, CultureGrams,, MAS Complete)

Britannica Library This link opens in a new window
Use this resource as a good place to start your research. It contains introductory articles on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Discover information about cultures around the world. Use this database to find statistics and data, and learn about the customs, traditions, and daily life of people living in different countries.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Look for full-text e-books on a wide-range of subjects. Read the content on your computer or device, or download all or part of the book. You can print, save, or email pages to yourself.
Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window
Use the tools in this database to brush up on your college skills (math, reading, grammar, and the sciences) to help you succeed in college or prepare for advancement in your career. Tools include interactive tutorials, flashcards, practice exams, articles, and ebooks. Learning Express Library has practice exams in college subjects as well as in career fields such as health and nursing, law enforcement and military, public safety and civil service, electrical and plumbing, truck driving, cosmetology, culinary arts, and more. Register for a free account with your name and email address to access the tools.
MAS Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This multi-subject database contains full-text sources for magazines, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of over a million photos, maps, and flags, to help you learn more about your topic.
NoveList K-8 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A great resource for education students, parents, and young readers looking for recommendations for books and authors. (For children, pre-teens and young teens).
NoveList (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A great resource for individual readers as well as book clubs and groups! Find new books and authors, get fiction recommendations, browse reading lists, check out discussion guides, and more. (For teens and adults).
Teaching Books This link opens in a new window
Educational resource to assist teachers with helping readers connect with the books they are reading, gaining understanding from authors, reinforce cultural authenticity and perspectives with diverse books, and cultivate a lifelong lofe of reading. Contains author interviews, lesson plans, activities, discussion gudies, and more.

Library Databases A-Z (find articles) Find articles and scholarly sources for research

Ask-a-Librarian

Reach out to a librarian if you have any questions about finding information in the library databases. Use the Ask-a-Librarian button at the left, or check beneath my profile pic below to see if I'm online for a Chat or feel free to reach out to me via email as well! I'm happy to help!