LibGuides: English Comp 1 (Emily Trenholm): What is a LibGuide?

Student Learning Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Business and Professional Services, Education and Human Services, Liberal Arts, Social Justice, Student Success

What is a LibGuide?

What is a LibGuide?

Think of a LibGuide as a "digital handout" that pulls together specific information in one convenient place. They are updated in real time, which means you are reading the most updated version at all times.

How do I use a LibGuide?

LINK to LibGuide PAGES which are stacked in the column on the left. Some PAGES may have subpages stacked below the main page. Page BOXES will also appear below the main page.

SCROLL down a PAGE to view LibGuide BOXES

Ask-a-Librarian

Western Library Website
These four red buttons link you to all of the library's resources

If you need help with library resources reach out by using the Live Chat button in the lower right corner of a LibGuide or a database, clicking Ask-a-Librarian or choosing the Email Me link in the column on the left. Same day help is available Monday-Friday 8:00-4:00 and the next morning if you reach out after hours.

Links to Our LibGuides about College Research Skills

Library 101: Using Western Library
This short guide provides students with an overview of how to develop search terms, find books in the library, and use databases on the library website. It also provides links to citing sources and the Learning Commons Writing Center. Includes both video and text-based tutorials.
Library Research for Writing Assignments: A Quick Guide
This short guide gives students an overview of conducting research for writing an essay. It covers the basics of developing search terms, note-taking, finding general background information for a topic using the library database Credo Reference, as well as more focused research using databases like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) to find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles. Includes both video and text-based tutorials.
Library Research Skills for College: Step-by-Step
This in-depth guide goes into step-by-step detail about the research process. It includes exploring and choosing a topic, developing search terms, basic and advanced search strategies, note-taking, using library databases to find background information at the beginning phases of the research process and peer-reviewed information using scholarly databases. It also provides information about citing sources and links to the Learning Commons Writing Center. Includes both video and text-based tutorials.