Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Sources in Chicago Style

Guide to citing sources using Chicago/Turabian Style

Chicago/Turabian: Two Methods of Citing Sources

1. Notes-Bibliography Style

This Chicago style consists of either footnotes OR endnotes, AND a bibliography

  • used in humanities subject fields such as literature, history, and the arts
  • may use numbered footnotes - citations at the bottom of each individual page that corresponds to a source in the bibliography OR
  • may use  numbered endnotes - citations at the end of the paper that corresponds to a source in the bibliography

includes a bibliography listed in alphabetical order as the final element in the paper

  • Example: Notes-Bibliography Database Citation for Peer-Reviewed Article
  • NOTE: The citation tools in library databases are great, because you can simply copy/paste it into your paper. BUT...sometimes database citations are wrong AND you must correct it before you submit your paper. For example: The ALL CAPS in the author's names in the citation example below is incorrect, and must be fixed before you submit your paper.

parentheses

2. Author-Date Style

  • used in the physical, natural, and social sciences
  • sources are briefly cited in-text within  parentheses by author’s last name and date of publication (Jones, 2020)
  • in-text parenthetical citations correspond to a list of references, where complete bibliographic.

Link

Link to samples and examples of Note-Bibliography and Author-Date methods are described in the video below.

Links to Resources About the Two Methods of Chicago Style


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.