Basic Database Features - Tools and Filters
Each database company (EBSCO, Gale, Credo Reference, etc.) has its own unique "look," but ...
ALL databases have TOOLS. The most commonly used are:
ALL databases have FILTERS. The most commonly used are:
A giant database that covers a wide range of topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles, as well as articles from trade journals, newspapers, and magazines.
A great resource for writing assignments. Browse a wide list of subject categories from the database’s home page to find articles and information from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and multimedia. Content is provided in the fields of biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, psychology, and more. Includes Gale’s visual Topic Finder tool.
Use this grid can help you decide whether or not your source is scholarly.
Scholarly |
Non-scholarly |
|
Content |
Detailed report of original research or experiment, lengthy report of an original application of an arts or humanities concept | Secondary report or discussion may include personal narrative, opinion, anecdotes. |
|---|---|---|
Author |
Author's credentials are given, usually a scholar with subject expertise. | Author may or may not be named; often a professional writer; may or may not have subject expertise. |
Audience |
Scholars, researchers, students. | General public; the interested non-specialist. |
Language |
Specialized terminology or jargon of the field; requires prior knowledge. | Vocabulary in general usage; understandable to most readers. |
References/Bibliography |
Required. All quotes and facts can be verified. | Rare. Scanty, if any, information about sources. |
Examples |
Research study, lengthy academic discussion of an arts or humanities concept, research review article | Editorial, news, book/film review, letters, highlights |
