Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World in the 20th Century Research LibGuide

Use Western Library databases for World History Class Resesrch

Ask-a-Librarian

Ask-a-Librarian button

Reach out to a librarian if you have any questions about finding information in the library databases. Use the Ask-a-Librarian button at the left, or check beneath my profile pic below to see if I'm online for a Chat or feel free to reach out to me via email as well! I'm happy to help!

Find Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Articles

scholarlyPeer-reviewed articles appear in academic journals (also known as scholarly journals). Peer-reviewed articles are written by professionals and experts in their field - researchers, academics/scholars, scientists, etc.  When they submit articles to a journal the articles is not reviewed by the editor but a panel of experts (peers) in the same field.  They read and evaluate a paper (article)  and recommend whether the paper should be published, revised, or rejected. Articles that are accepted for publication meet the expected standards for the field.

 

When you perform a database search look for a checkbox that allows you to filter for peer-reviewed articles.

GALE Databases (upper right of page)EBSCO Databases (left column )

Databases Tutorials for Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) Articles

There are two excellent general topic databases, Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) and Academic OneFile (Gale), that serve as a great starting point for your research. In the videos below you will learn to use these databases specifically, to find scholarly article but you will also learn to use the dozens of other databases created by the companies EBSCO and Gale. Most EBSCO and Gale databases look and function the same way.

Note: I know sometimes it's not easy or convenient to listen to an audio recording. The videos are closed-captioned so if you prefer to read than to listen, you have that option.

More Databases for World History Research


Western Technical College
Western Technical College Learning Commons
Student Success Center, Room 201
400 7th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601
learningcommons@westerntc.edu
State Relay: 711
EEO Statement

Learn more about Western and the Learning Commons.
The Learning Commons provides library and academic support services on campus and online. The Learning Commons will set you up for success!

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
©2020, Western Technical College

If you are experiencing disability related accessibility issues with any information on this website, please email AccessServices@westerntc.edu or call 608-785-9524.